Sunday, December 5, 2010

Awards 2010: Washington D.C. Film Critics Award Nominations

It's definitely going to be a long road to Oscars as we start barreling through the critics awards, starting with the Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association, who winners are announced tomorrow. I'm not sure how they usually play things, but their selection of nominated films seems rather narrow. They seem to be playing it safe and nominating films that the general public would be aware of. The King's Speech is oddly not a player in the Best Film category, and most of the nominations are simply predictable. I mean that in a quite literal sense, as it seems like their just predicting what would get nominated, rather than choosing for themselves. The winners will be announced on Monday, so check out the nominees until then.

Best Film:
Black Swan
127 Hours
The Social Network
Toy Story 3

Best Director:
Daren Aronofsky (Black Swan)
Danny Boyle (127 Hours)
Joel and Ethan Coen (True Grit)
David Fincher (The Social Network)
Christopher Nolan (Inception)

Best Actor:
Jeff Bridges (True Grit)
Robert Duvall (Get Low)
Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network)
Colin Firth (The King’s Speech)
James Franco (127 Hours)

Best Actress:
Annette Bening (The Kids Are All Right)
Anne Hathaway (Love & Other Drugs)
Nicole Kidman (Rabbit Hole)
Jennifer Lawrence (Winter’s Bone)
Natalie Portman (Black Swan)

Best Supporting Actor:
Christian Bale (The Fighter)
Andrew Garfield (The Social Network)
John Hawkes (Winter’s Bone)
Sam Rockwell (Conviction)
Geoffrey Rush (The King’s Speech)

Best Supporting Actress:
Amy Adams (The Fighter)
Helena Bonham Carter (The King’s Speech)
Melissa Leo (The Fighter)
Hailee Steinfeld (True Grit)
Jacki Weaver (Animal Kingdom)

Best Acting Ensemble:
The Fighter
The Kids Are All Right
The Social Network
The Town

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Danny Boyle and Simon Beaufoy (127 Hours)
Aaron Sorkin (The Social Network)
Michael Arndt (Toy Story 3)
Joel and Ethan Coen (True Grit)
Debra Granik and Anne Rossellini (Winter’s Bone)

Best Original Screenplay:
Mike Leigh (Another Year)
Mark Heyman, Andres Heinz and John McLaughlin (Black Swan)
Christopher Nolan (Inception)
Stuart Blumberg and Lisa Cholodenko (The Kids Are All Right)
David Seidler (The King’s Speech)

Best Animated Feature:
Despicable Me
How to Train Your Dragon
Toy Story 3

Best Documentary:
Exit Through the Gift Shop
Inside Job
The Tillman Story
Waiting for ‘Superman’

Best Foreign Language Film:
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
I Am Love
White Material

Best Art Direction:
Alice in Wonderland
Black Swan
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1
True Grit

Best Cinematography:
Black Swan
127 Hours
The Social Network
True Grit

Best Score:
Black Swan
127 Hours
The Social Network
True Grit

No comments:

Post a Comment